Do You Have a Bear Whistle?

bear_montana_ bear_whistle_travel“Do you have your own bear whistle?”

Hands down the strangest question I have ever been asked when booking a hotel.

Our train will be arriving at Glacier National Park, Montana  late in the evening.   The hotel owner will leave our keys, a flashlight and directions to find our cabin in a box on the front office porch.

It was the last question, that has me questioning my plans.  “Do you have a bear whistle?”   What? Are you kidding me?  I’ve never even heard of a bear whistle and I really don’t want to know why I might need one.

In fact, I can tell you with the utmost certainty that I do not need a bear whistle. If I meet a bear, in the dark, in the woods of Montana, I can guarantee you that I will scream and pass out.  Hopefully the scream will scare the bear and my passing out counts as playing dead, right?

One thought on “Do You Have a Bear Whistle?

  1. Pingback: Beyond the Rails in West Glacier, Montana | LB Living Better Travel & Adventure

Leave a Reply

